Agricultural Area Planning

Agricultural Area Planning is undertaken by local governments to strengthen farming within their communities.  These plans are funded and developed in partnership with the Ministry of Agriculture, the Agricultural Land Commission, and the Investment Agriculture Foundation of British Columbia.  Information on Agricultural Area Planning can be found within the "Strengthening Farming" section of the Ministry of Agriculture website.  

As a consultant, Dave Whiting has been a member of the planning teams that have developed agricultural area plans for the Districts of Summerland,  Kent, and Lake Country, the City of Chilliwack and Osoyoos - Electoral Area "A".  Dave is currently on the consulting team that is completing the Agricultural Viability Study for the Township of Langley.  

Information associated with some of these initiatives can be found at the following links:

Coldstream Agricultural Area Plan

Lake Country Community Agriculture Plan

Town of Osoyoos - RDOS Area "A"